Quick Reviews: Summer 2017 Late Review

To be honest, this season didn’t really stand out to me.  At first, there were a few shows I was excited for, but then I came to find out that most of them were half-length episodes (or shorter).

My bane for anime.  A show that can’t waste more of my life than the average.

But in regards to that, there ended up being some shows that I picked up near the season’s end, that I honestly didn’t think I would like, but ended up liking, or even loving.

maxresdefault

Shamelessly stolen from a Google Image Search.

As always, the following half-assed reviews are my personal opinion.  Whether you agree or not, it’s what I thought when watching the show(s).  Get over it, you’re reading these reviews on a blog, not ANN.

Summer Season 2017 Quick Reviews:

Kakegurui: 7/10 Because I was watching it through Hiryuu, the releases weren’t exactly on-time-weekly; I have a few more episodes to watch, but it’s definitely one of my favorites from this season.

Aho Girl: 7/10 One of very few half-length shows that I would recommend.  It’s just the right amount of comedy length to show how stupid people can get for bananas.  Probably will go back and finish it… eventually.  Also, Dubious Boobius.

Tsurezure Children: 5/10 I did like this show at the start of the season.  But I couldn’t handle watching two half-length shows, when one was enough to drive me mad.  It still seemed cool.

NTR – Netsuzou TRap: 5/10 Same problem with Tsurezure; I didn’t even finish the first episode… much like I couldn’t finish the first two chapters.

Made In Abyss: 10/10 One of few shows that made me actually cry.  Great show about exploring deep holes.  One of three or four I picked up after the fact.

A Centaur’s Life: 8.5/10 Surprisingly interesting, mainly for the lesbians.  Come for the lesbians, stay for the… lesbians.  Also an interesting world, with half an episode about their version of WW2.

Princess Principal: 9/10 Really want a second season; whether or not it will happen depends on the reception of the consumers, though.  Also has a game coming out, so that’s pretty cool.

Tenshi no 3P: 3/10 Usually, I can’t go wrong with lolis.  But this show seemed to be cute for the sake of being cute.  While that’s not always a problem, this show focused too much on fanservice in it’s first three episodes, which will turn off most people quickly, I think.

Isekai Smartphone: 8/10 I only saw the first episode, but it was a great episode.  Top-notch comedy.  The Wikipedia summary was hilariously on-the-nose about it.  It’s great.

New Game!! (S2): 6.5/10 I really like lesbians, but this show caught up to the manga really fast… so much so that I lost my place.  Either way, it’s basically the same as last season, with some new characters, and a couple new events.  Definitely an acquired taste,

Classroom of the Elite: 9/10 A twist I should’ve saw coming from a mile away.  That’s what this show was.  It also sets up nicely for a continuation.

Gamers!: 7/10 I’m going to watch more, I promise.  This show’s just a little difficult to watch.  Also, I needed to rewatch Made in Abyss a couple thousand times.

 

Out of this list, there were a couple that I meant to watch,  but didn’t (Hell Girl, Hajimete no Gal, Clione no Akari, and Fate/Apocrypha) as well as some that were really popular this season, that I just wasn’t interested in (Knights and Magic, Konbini Kareshi, Welcome to the Ballroom, and Teekyuu season FUCKING 9?!).  In any case, this season seems to be just as interesting as the one I just covered.  Prepare yourself for the next review, coming soon!

 

Leave a Reply

